Just Picking Brains : 40 machines to set up in a school

Hi everyone

I’m a teacher in middle school and here is the situation

In a week we’re going to receive 40 computers from some local factory mainly dells with 3rd and 4th gen i3 and i5.

Here is the present plan : Configure 39 of them with a minimal install of ubuntu 18.04 and dump 3x10tb in the last one with Freenas with one share for each class.

Our school is quite small 300 kids and security is not a real issue I mean even if someone wants to have a go at the server the worst they could do is steal 4th grade poems.

I’m just looking if anyone has any input / good ideas / things not to mess up when it comes to managing this type of set up.
Every thought’s welcome

1 Like

I’d say do worry a bit about security, have a decent server backup system in place (it’s probably easier to restore than reinstall). It’s not is someone has a go and steals 4th grade poems (why would anyone want to) but more about someone putting something inappropriate on the server.

My 2 pence (UK equiv of 2 cents, soon to be worth less than that though)

1 Like

I don’t have any direct experience with this but I know there are several BDL regulars that are involved in education. Hopefully they can weigh in on the subject. I believe @argrubbs, @kc2bez and @DreadfulTrack71 might be able to help.

That type of security I do indeed care about. Might be a good idea to have a second FreeNas machine to back the first one on.

Several questions:

You familiar with PXE booting? If this was my project I would set up the machines to boot from and image on the server. That way you only really have one image (computer) to maintain. The student machines boots from the image and Bob’s your uncle. Use the FreeNas box to set up shared storage.

Shouldn’t need much to make this work since the PC’s will be doing most the leg work with local memory, CPU and GPU’s.